Carillon Composition Competition 2019



To encourage the writing of original carillon compositions by young composers.


  • One cash award of $500.
  • Premiere performance of the winning composition at the ISU C-HOP Festival 2019.
    Upon acceptance of the award, it is understood that the rights for the premiere performance will be granted by the composer to the ISU C-HOP Festival 2019.

Composition Requirements:

  • The submitted work shall be an original composition, and for four-octave carillon (tenor C to C4), with a two-octave pedal board (tenor C to C2).
  • The composition may be a solo, a duet for one carillon or a work for carillon with one or more other instruments or chorus.
  • A transcription or arrangement will not be accepted.
  • The composition shall be 4 to 7 minutes in length.
  • The submitted work shall never have been published, awarded a prize in another competition, or performed publicly.
  • A composer may submit more than one work.


The composer must not have been born before September 13, 1984, and must not have been awarded a prize in the ISU Carillon Composition Competition.


The judges reserve the right not to award a prize if the submitted compositions are not of a satisfactory level.
The decision of the judges is final.

Instructions for submission:

  • Submit three copies of the composition.
  • The composition must be postmarked no later than August 15, 2019.
  • The submitted composition must be legible.
  • The composer's name shall not appear on the composition.
  • Along with the three copies of the composition, include a small sealed envelope that contains within the composer's name, address, phone number, e-mail address, and birth date. The title of the composition is to be placed on the outside of the small envelope. The small envelope will be opened only after the judges' decision is made.
  • Submitted compositions will be returned only if a self-addressed and stamped envelope is provided.

Submit materials to:

Carillon Composition Competition 2019
Iowa State University
Department of Music & Theatre
149 Music Hall
2427 Union Drive
Ames, IA 50011

For more information, call (515) 294-2911, or e-mail:

Winning compositions of previous competitions:

2017Tango for carillon by Chad Cagle, Winona, Minnesota.
2015Sisyphus Stone for carillon by Kendal Lafayette Fortson, Los Alamos, New Mexico.


Center Panel for carillon by Kyle Shaw, Urbana, Illinois.

Honorable MentionAll The Heavens Were A Bell by Philip Rice, East Lansing, Michigan. score.

2011For Whom The Bell Tolls for carillon by Alex Weiser, New York, New York.
2009Hunting St. Hubert for carillon and brass quintet by Ondrej Sarek, Prague, Czech Republic.
2007Aller Guten Dinge Sind Drei! for carillon by Daniel Nass, Minneapolis, Minnesota.
2006Erisian Cycles for carillon by Brandon Vaccaro, Denver, Colorado.
2002Five Fancies for carillon by Neil Thornock, Provo, Utah. 
Honorable MentionDriving Rain for carillon by Keith Jenkins, Cincinnati, Ohio, and Campanarium I for carillon by Neil Thornock, Provo, Utah.
1997By de dei lâns (The proceedings of the day) for carillon by Klass R. R. de Haan, Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

Lux Aeterna for carillon by Mark Storey, Auckland, New Zealand.

Honorable MentionEcho for carillon and mixed chorus by Amy Michelle Black, Waco, Kentucky.

1995Tree Modes for carillon by Amy Michelle Black, Waco, Kentucky.